ANZBA Secretariat office – Christmas closure

Please note, the ANZBA Secretariat office will be closed from Wednesday 24th December through to Monday 12th January.
The office will reopen on Tuesday 13th January.
I hope you all have a lovely Christmas, and a safe and happy New Year!


A new Royal North Shore in Sydney

Congratulations to the team at the Royal North Shore Severe Burns Injury Service for their mammoth effort in moving into the new Burn Unit.

Special mention to Di Elfleet the RNSH <a href=

online casino SBIS Nurse Manager for her efforts cooridnating the move and ensuring low staffing stress levels due to all of her baking” class=”size-medium wp-image-1720″ height=”225″ width=”300″ /> Special mention to Di Elfleet, RNSH SBIS Nurse Manager (right) for her efforts coordinating the move and ensuring low staffing stress levels thanks to her copious baking.


Queensland’s new old Burn Service

Congratulations to the Queenslands paediatric burn service with the opening of the the Pegg Leditschke Children’s Burns Centre at Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital. it is fitting that the Burn Unit is named after two of ANZBA’s finest – Stuart Pegg and Fred Leditschke. Congratulations!


Smith and Nephew sponsor Joanna Briggs Institute access for all ANZBA affiliated burn units

A big thank you to Smith and Nephew for sponsoring access for all ANZBA affiliated burn units to the Joanna Briggs Institute. The Joanna Briggs Institute improves patient care for providing ready access to burn care evidence summaries. Currently, the JBI Burns node has:

  • 68 Evidence-based recommended practices
  • 156 evidence summaries
  • 5 systematic reviews
  • 37 consumer information sheets

All ANZBA affiliated burn units will soon recieve their password access. please contact Yvonne Singer if you have any queries at

Thanks to Smith and Nephew and JBI for assisting us provide better care for those with burn injury.


Thanks Peter and Welcome Fiona

The Australian & New Zealand Burn Association would like to thank Professor Peter Maitz for serving as President of our organisation this past year. His leadership and vision has been invaluable.

We welcome Winthrop Professor Fiona Wood to the Presidents Chair and look forward to the future growth of our organisation under her leadership


An update post ISBI

Congratulation to the NSW contingent of ANZBA for hosting the International Society of Burn Injuries Congress last week in Sydney. With almost 900 delegates, the congress was a great opportunity to learn, network and catch up with old friends.


ANZBA Membership Survey

Thanks to Bec Schrale (Tasmanian state rep) and Tracey Perret (NZ state Rep) for implementing and evaluating the ANZBA membership survey. Survey results were sent out to all members in August.

The survey was sent out to approximately 500 individuals with 172 responses, of whom 61% were current ANZBA members. Overall, the survey results indicate that participants believe that ANZBA membership services are valuable, they utilise the benefits and believe that collegiate support and networking are a beneficial component of membership.

Common themes from the survey comments were to continue the ASM discount, review the cost of membership, provide online access to a journal, and communicate with members regarding educational opportunities available.

Watch this space as we respond to your membership survey feedback. The ANZBA board remains committed to the review of membership services and will repeat the survey in 12 months to review engagement by members/non-members and examine new and ongoing initiatives.

Click the link below to view the survey:

Australian and New Zealand Burns Association Membership Su…


ANZBA Board Positions

The call for nominations for ANZBA Board members & Office Bearers was recently been circulated with the renewal of membership subscriptions. There are a number of Board positions becoming vacant in October. All ANZBA financial members are eligible, so this is a perfect time and opportunity to actively contribute to the organisation on Board level.

Nominations must be received by Close of Business on 15th September 2014